Monday, August 18, 2008

11th “Annual Rajiv Gandhi Awards”

The 11th Rajiv Gandhi Awards were presented to the awardees amidst lots of fanfare on 17th August 2008 at NCPA, Mumbai. The award ceremony started with Sajid Khan as the host who enthralled the crowd with his slapstick commentary & was later joined by Tisca Chopra. Charan Singh Sapra MLC and convener of the Rajiv Gandhi Awards initiated the function with his foreword on the institution of the award by following Rajiv ji’s ideologies of recognizing talents and achievements of Indians globally. The first performance was of Rakhi Sawant who performed on patriotic songs, a very unlikely act, followed by Rajeev & Kamya Punjabi of Comedy Circus fame. The comedy element was further raised by stand up act by Navin Prabhakar of Laughter Challenge. Shankar Ehsan & Loy also presented a medley of songs from their films. The highlight of the whole functions was foot stepping performances by Kareena Kapoor and Salman Khan.

The awards were presented by Shri. Digvijay Singh, Gen. Secy.AICC, Shri. Vilasrao Deshmukh, Shri. Rajiv Shukla, Shri. Eknath Gaikwad, Shri. Kripashankar Singh, Kiron Kher, Producer Vipul Shah, Geeta Basra, Yukta Mookhey,Nagma, Sudhanshu Pandey, and so on.

Digvijay Singh in his brief address congratulated Charan Singh Sapra and said that “ Coming from the rural state of Madhya Pradesh into this high profile function and further presenting a award to actress Lara Dutta and Anna Hazare will really be a memorable moment for me”. Vilasrao Deshmukh added humor to his speech by specifically mentioning that “ the awardees and presnters keep changing every year but he still remains one permanent invitee and presenter since its inception”.Also this program turned out to be a memorable moment for Kripashankar Singh as it was during the function the announcement came from delhi of his appointment as the new MRCC president.

Charan Singh Sapra in his address welcomed all the award recipients and thanked Smt. Sonia Gandhi, Shri. Vilasrao Deshmukh for supporting him to make this event a grand success since past 10 years.

The list of luminous awardees of year 2008 is as stated below;

Mr. Baba Kalyani – Industrialist, Mr. Vir Sanghvi- Journalism, Shri Anna Hazare-Social Field, Mr. Baichung Bhutia-Sports, Mr. Sunny Varkey- Educationist, Mr. Sameer Gehlaut-Young Entrepreneur, Ms. Vandana Luthra-Women Achiever, Mr. Malkit Singh (UK) -Global Indian,Mr. Dalip Singh Rana (The Great Khali)-Super Achiever, Mr. Mehul Choksi-Innovative Marketing, Mr. Saif Ali Khan-Actor

Ms. Lara Dutta-Actress, Master Darsheel Safary-Child Prodigy


Charan Singh Sapra, MLC

Convener- Rajiv Gandhi Awards -9892244223

Kripashankar Singh was appointed the president of Mumbai Congress on 17th August 2008, his appointment was announced during the Rajiv Gandhi Awards function after which congress party workers from Mulund along with MLC Charan Singh Sapra congratulated and felicitated him.

Photograph: - MLC Charan Singh Sapra along with Rajesh Ingle of Youth Congress and Kishor Mundekal of INTUC felicitating Kripashankar Singh on his appointment as the new MRCC chief

Popular Posts